venerdž, settembre 17, 2021 15:30

The Abyss (II)

“As soon as I had destroyed my personality, as soon as I had expelled my ego, the universe to which it was indeed a frightful and fatal force, fraught with every form of fear, was only so in relation to the idea `I’; so long as `I am I’ all else must seem hostile. Now that there was no longer any `I’ to suffer, all these ideas which had inflicted suffering became innocent. I could praise the perfection of every part; I could wonder and worship the whole.” (A.Crowley)

One of the most complex mystic systems remains the Qabbalistic Tree of Life, that developed within the Jewish thought and spirituality, somewhere between 12th-13th centuries. To make it simple I will not explain each Sephira like most of the authors do, driving themselves and the readers into confusion but add a very simple and easy to understand, diagram:


(Kaph, Tau, Resh)

Concealed of the Concealed, Ancient of Ancients, Lux Occulta, Lus Interna

Archangel: Metatron — Tarot: Aces of Wands, Cups, Swords, Pentacles

The Point, The Crown, The Swastika (Roots of the Powers of Fire, Water, Air, and Earth)

the Abyss



(Beth, Yod, Nun, He)

(Cheth, Kaph, Mem, He)

Ama, Aima, Khosia, Marah, the Great Sea

Power of Yetzirah, Yod of Tetragrammaton

Archangel:¬†Tzaphkiel — Tarot: Threes of Wands, Cups, Swords, Pentacles¬†(Established Strength, Abundance, Sorrow, Material Works)¬†

Archangel: Ratziel — Tarot: Twos¬†of Wands, Cups, Swords, Pentacles(Dominion, Love, Peace Restored, Harmonious Change)

Yoni, Kteis, Vesica Pisces, Cup, Chalice 

Lingam, Phallus, Yod, Tower, Rod of Power



Mystery of Knowledge, Yod, the inner beautiful path

In line with the Kundalini, coiled in Yesod

the Veil



(Gimbel, Beth, Vau, Resh, He)

(Cheth, Samech, Daleth)

Din: Justice, Pachad: Fear

Gedulah, Love, Majesty

Archangel: Khamael — Tarot: Fives of Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles (Strife, Loss in Pleasure, Defeat, Earthly Trouble)

Archangel: Tzadkiel — Tarot: Fours of Wands, Cups, Swords, Pentacles (Perfected Work, Pleasure, Rest from Strife, Earthly Power)

Pentagon, Sword, Spear, Scourge, Chain

Tetrahedron, Pyramid, Cross, Wand, Scepter



(Tau, Pe, Aleph, Resh, Tau)

Zoar Anpin, the Lesser Countenance.Melekh, the King.Adam, Son, Man

Archangel: Raphael — Tarot: Sixes of Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles(Victory, Joy, Earned Success, Material Success)

The Lamen, Rosy Cross, Calvary Cross, Truncated Pyramid, Cube.




(Nun, Tzaddi, Cheth)

(He, Vau, Daleth)

Title: Firmness

Image:An hermaphrodite

Archangel: Haniel — Tarot: Sevens of Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles(Valour, Illusory Success, Unstable Effort, Success Unfulfilled)

Archangel: Michael — Tarot: Eightsof Wands, Cups, Swords, Pentacles(Swiftness, Abandoned Success, Shortened Force, Prudence)

Lamp and girdle.The Rose

Names, Versicles, Apron



Archangel: Gabriel — Tarot: Nines of Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles

(Great Strength, Material Happiness, Despair and Cruelty, Material Gain)

Perfumes and Sandals


(Mem, Lamed, Kaph, Vau, Tau)

Gate of Death, Shadow of Death, Tears, Justice, Prayer, Garden of Eden, Virgin

Archangel: Sandalphon — Tarot:Tensof Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles(Oppression, Perfected Success, Ruin, Wealth)

Double Cube, Equal-armed Cross, Magic Circle, Triangle of Art

(diagram taken from :

The Tree of Life(Etz Chaim) also named ”the fruit of the righteous” is not only an intellectual and philosophical system but also the map of what happens inside oneself, therefore one should sense and experience all the stages inside. The Abyss is described to be between the three supernal Sephiroth of Kether, Chockmah and Binah and the seven lower Sephiroth (as you can see on the diagram below).

When you look at the path of the snake down the Tree of Life, then you’ll notice that it follows exactly the Sephiroth¬† except when it jumps from Binah to Chesed, thus reinforcing the idea of an ”abyss” which must be crossed. What exactly contributed to the idea of an Abyss? I assume were at least two reasons:first is the Creation myth ”and the earth was without form or shape, with darkness over the abyss and a mighty wind sweeping over the waters” (Genesis I) and the second might be the myth of the fall of both Adam and Eve because of the serpent (!) and they became flesh, thus surrendered to death, suffering, limitation, matter.

Now according to the traditional Jewish Kabbalists, all humans have a Nepesh (soul) but not all humans have a Ruach or more common-Ruach ha Kodesh (holy spirit). Some can acquire a Ruach but most can’t, and what makes them see or NOT the Abyss or better said the Abysses from the four worlds is exactly this major part. There is Abyss between Assiah (also known as Olam Asiyah, literally the World of Action) and Yetzirah (Formation-”the third of the four spiritual worlds, the realm of spiritual existence in which the limited nature of the created beings takes on form and definition; the abode of the lower classes of angelic beings and of the souls of ordinary Jews” ), between Yetzirah and Briah(Creation), between Briah and Atziluth (Olam Atzilut, literally World of Emanation ), the seven lower sephiroth of Atziuth and the three supernals. There is another one between Kether and En Soph (but about this I would dare to say that is unknowable, simply because if one enters absolute Unity, he/she cannot know it, because there is no duality in Kether; if I know I am in absolute it means that I have a duality with my own thoughts).Thus for people that do not possess a Ruach, comprehension of more subtle things goes beyond their nature, just like an animal won’t understand a painting of van Gogh, won’t even comprehend that is something that i s so different from the rest of the things.

Now let’s talk about Daath (Knowledge) and do not go beyond our subject too much. All of the other Sephira have ”something”, can be described easily but Daath is like the haunted room from an old house, it is seen as horrible and shocking. Remember the movies about aliens or monsters that come out of a vortex (if not you’d better see ”In the mouth of madness”).Well, Daath is the representation of the supernals as seen from below the Abyss and that is why, the human comprehension can’t grasp the three Supernals. We can think about them, make ideas, contradict each other even, but I doubt that any of the writings regarding the Supernals is true. To some kabbalists, Daath is not the Abyss but standing in the Abyss so we shouldn’t make a confusion about it. On the other hand we must never forget that life experience will influence one’s beliefs, so reading Aleister Crowley on the subject or Dion Fortune, for example, will always face their beliefs and their life experience and not ours, and studying Kabbalah means to deal with life yourself, not just read(in fact reading comes second in importance).

” Man looks in the abyss, there’s nothing staring back at him. At that moment, man finds his character. And that is what keeps him out of the abyss.”Hal Holbrook

Article By Kirke

Comments are closed.